[Now supported] Screenshot via USB

KC7RBW
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2019 1:23 am

[Now supported] Screenshot via USB

Post by KC7RBW » Wed Nov 20, 2019 2:47 pm

I would like to be able to pull screenshots over USB, for use in documentation and in pull-requests.

A utility to pull them could blow them up to 2x2 or larger pixels and apply a greenish tint to make them look like the real thing.
Andrew | KC7RBW | ajorg

VK3KYY
Posts: 3001
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Screenshot via USB

Post by VK3KYY » Wed Nov 20, 2019 8:06 pm

A function could be added to do this
The firmware uses a 1k memory buffer to store a copy of the screen before its sent to the display, but the data format is non standard, and it’s a waste of space in the GD77 firmware ROM to include a converter into BMP.

I will add this to the Issues list on Github

KC7RBW
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2019 1:23 am

Re: Screenshot via USB

Post by KC7RBW » Wed Nov 20, 2019 9:31 pm

Definitely it would be preferable to have the utility on the computer with a real CPU and buckets of RAM to do the conversion.
Andrew | KC7RBW | ajorg

VK3KYY
Posts: 3001
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Screenshot via USB

Post by VK3KYY » Wed Nov 20, 2019 9:35 pm

Yep

The format is packed binary.

The screen is divided into 8 horizontal stripes each of 8 pixels high
The screen is 128 pixels wide.

Each byte contains the pixels 8 lines in the current stripe.

I forget which way the data is in the stripe bytes, i.e whether the MS bit is the top line or bottom line of pixels

Either way, so code would need to be written to do the conversion.

VK3KYY
Posts: 3001
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Screenshot via USB

Post by VK3KYY » Mon Nov 25, 2019 6:50 am

I've done an experimental version which adds a feature to download a screengrab, and also backup the entire contents of the MCU's ROM including the bootloader.

Use the attached firmware and download the latest CPS

https://github.com/rogerclarkmelbourne/ ... taller.exe

Note. If you screengrab during Tx it seems to cause the radio to hang, so please turn the radio off and on again if screengrabbing during Tx.

I will try to fix this in the CPS, as I think its being caused because of the CPS screen being loaded over the TX screen, even though nothing is rendered on the CPS screen
Attachments
OpenGD77_201925111638_dmr_monitor-screengrab.sgl
(477.06 KiB) Downloaded 45 times

User avatar
m1dyp
Posts: 457
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 8:03 am
Location: Hertfordshire, U.K.
Contact:

Re: Screenshot via USB

Post by m1dyp » Mon Nov 25, 2019 1:09 pm

Image

very nice
Attachments
test1.png
test1.png (778 Bytes) Viewed 1074 times
73 de Ken :D

User avatar
m1dyp
Posts: 457
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 8:03 am
Location: Hertfordshire, U.K.
Contact:

Re: Screenshot via USB

Post by m1dyp » Mon Nov 25, 2019 3:50 pm

i have noticed a strange thing now..... call signs seem to be corrupted when displayed, as in the same call is displayed, whoever is talking, the first one to talk gets shown, and everyone else gets the same display
73 de Ken :D

User avatar
m1dyp
Posts: 457
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 8:03 am
Location: Hertfordshire, U.K.
Contact:

Re: Screenshot via USB

Post by m1dyp » Mon Nov 25, 2019 4:02 pm

ok i uploaded the code plug after the firmware update, that seems to have cured it...... watch this space :mrgreen:
73 de Ken :D

User avatar
KU4ZD
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:47 pm
Location: Council Bluffs, Iowa
Contact:

Re: Screenshot via USB

Post by KU4ZD » Mon Nov 25, 2019 5:53 pm

Seems to be working fine
test.png
test.png (1.15 KiB) Viewed 1047 times
test.png
test.png (1.15 KiB) Viewed 1047 times
Attachments
test.png
test.png (844 Bytes) Viewed 1046 times
Mike KU4ZD

VK3KYY
Posts: 3001
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Screenshot via USB

Post by VK3KYY » Mon Nov 25, 2019 7:58 pm

BTW.

I fixed the bug in the screengrab which kinda hung the Tx.

But I’m sure that’s the version everyone had now downloaded .

Also

Do you think I could put a border around the image ?

E.g. 1 pixel black line ?

Post Reply