Radio Type in CPS???

OpenGD77CPS
Post Reply
KA1CM
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2023 4:14 pm

Radio Type in CPS???

Post by KA1CM » Mon Apr 29, 2024 12:26 pm

Hi All, I have both RT3S and RD-5R. Every time, before I connect the radio to the computer I will make sure the radio type is set correctly. My question is, what is it for? What if one day I forgot to change it? What exactly does it effect, only firmware loader? codeplug? or everything?

Thank you,
Charlie,
Attachments
Screenshot 2024-04-29 082136.png
Screenshot 2024-04-29 082136.png (97.01 KiB) Viewed 2220 times

DW7GDL
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon May 06, 2024 5:46 am

Re: Radio Type in CPS???

Post by DW7GDL » Sat May 18, 2024 1:54 am

According to the user guide it's just used when flashing the firmware.

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 2768
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France

Re: Radio Type in CPS???

Post by F1RMB » Tue May 21, 2024 7:23 am

Hi,

Selecting the correct model type enable or disable some CPS features, accordingly to the model (different firmware loader, no theme menu item for the monochome transceivers).

The most important part is the firmware loader, for many other parts, the CPS get that information from the device, thing that is not possible while in bootloader mode.


Cheers.
---
Daniel

KA1CM
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2023 4:14 pm

Re: Radio Type in CPS???

Post by KA1CM » Tue May 21, 2024 12:19 pm

Thank you, Daniel.

Post Reply