RD5R Firmware Questions

OpenGD77CPS
we1h

RD5R Firmware Questions

Post by we1h » Sun Jan 30, 2022 3:20 am

Hi All,

I am new to the DMR world and this forum and have a couple of questions about OpenGD77 FW and my BF RD5R. Hopefully the collective wisdom on this site can guide me in the right direction...

1. I downloaded what I believe to be the latest FW version for the RD5R, dated 11 July 2021. Is there a more recent FW? I pulled it from the downlods folder of this site.

2. If (for some reason) I need to undo the OpenGD77 FW update, can I reflash the OEM FW after doing the OpenGD77 FW?

3. I read some detail about not supporing FM radio with the RD5R. I assume that this does not include the analog FM functions of the radio and just the broadcast band FM feature (which I really don't care about personally).

Thanks in advance for any guidance you all have!

- Matt

oh1fss

Re: RD5R Firmware Questions

Post by oh1fss » Sun Jan 30, 2022 9:08 am

we1h wrote:
Sun Jan 30, 2022 3:20 am
1. I downloaded what I believe to be the latest FW version for the RD5R, dated 11 July 2021. Is there a more recent FW? I pulled it from the downlods folder of this site.
There is a newer beta version, please search the forum for details. The beta has a cool satellite mode!
we1h wrote:
2. If (for some reason) I need to undo the OpenGD77 FW update, can I reflash the OEM FW after doing the OpenGD77 FW?
After installing OpenGD77, take the backups (Flash etc). Reverting back should be possible, but I have not tried restoring nor reverting to OEM FW, the OpenGD77 is simply so much better!
we1h wrote:
3. I read some detail about not supporing FM radio with the RD5R. I assume that this does not include the analog FM functions of the radio and just the broadcast band FM feature (which I really don't care about personally).
Ham FM is supported. FM broadcast band is not supported.

73, OH1FSS

we1h

Post by we1h » Sun Jan 30, 2022 10:37 pm