New GD77 Beta, and MD9600 Alpha - May 3rd 2022

TechGuy01
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 03, 2022 9:09 pm

Re: New GD77 Beta, and MD9600 Alpha

Post by TechGuy01 » Wed May 11, 2022 1:20 pm

There seems to be a problem with time and how satellite positions are calculated. When local time is used, satellite positions are just wrong. When the time (under display) is switched to UTC time the positions aren't re-calculated to reflect the change.

Would it be possible to add calculations for UTC time taking into account summer/winter time change for the regions that observe these changes based on the location entered, and recalculate sats when switching time display and/or updating the time? Either that or maybe provide a place to enter UTC time even if local time is selected as the displayed time along with summer/winter time changes per region.This way users with the RD-5R who must input the correct time each time the radio is turned off can use local time and still retain functionality.

edit*
As I have been fiddling with it more this morning It seems the issue I was having was caused by the UTC timezone set to -05:00 (my zone) but entering the local time without taking into account DST. Changing the UTC offset to -04:00 does indeed fix the issue, but without power cycling the radio it doesn't recalculate. The time in the satellite menu does update though, which led me to believe there was an issue there. Entering the time again under radio info does trigger a recalculate. I suppose adding a DST switch would solve the issue and allow correct setting of the UTC timezone. I'm aware that different countries begin this at different times, so I guess its likely unnecessary work to try to set it based on location or date. Either way now that I know what the issue was I'm happy to have found the solution, and I can either change a DST switch or offset the UTC timezone twice a year so I can use local time. :D :lol:


Side note:
F1RMB is a buttcrack. :x :x

User avatar
oe7abh
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 7:19 am
Location: Zillertal AUSTRIA
Contact:

Re: New GD77 Beta, and MD9600 Alpha

Post by oe7abh » Wed May 11, 2022 6:30 pm

Hello Roger, hello Daniel!
Installed the new firmware on my RT90 (V2 hardware) today. It worked right away!
Thank you for the great work!

User avatar
oe7abh
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 7:19 am
Location: Zillertal AUSTRIA
Contact:

Re: New GD77 Beta, and MD9600 Alpha

Post by oe7abh » Thu May 12, 2022 6:27 am

Question:
Is it possible to control the internal fan via software?
With mini-power (hotspot operation 100mW) you can do without the fan.
73 Alfred
http://tyrofly.at/funk.htm#MD9600_RT90
Last edited by oe7abh on Thu May 12, 2022 7:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

VK3KYY
Posts: 5133
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: New GD77 Beta, and MD9600 Alpha

Post by VK3KYY » Thu May 12, 2022 6:31 am

oe7abh wrote:
Thu May 12, 2022 6:27 am
Question:
Is it possible to control the internal fan via software?
With mini-power (hotspot operation 100mW) you can do without the fan.
73 Alfred
No.

Unfortunately, the fan not controlled by the CPU.

I presume as soon as the PA voltage is turned on the fan comes on.

I agree it would be better if this was under CPU control, but its not, and also all the pins on the CPU are already allocated, so it would not be possible even to modify the radio hardware to have such a feature

User avatar
oe7abh
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 7:19 am
Location: Zillertal AUSTRIA
Contact:

Re: New GD77 Beta, and MD9600 Alpha

Post by oe7abh » Thu May 12, 2022 7:23 am

VK3KYY wrote:
Thu May 12, 2022 6:31 am
oe7abh wrote:
Thu May 12, 2022 6:27 am
Question:
Is it possible to control the internal fan via software?
With mini-power (hotspot operation 100mW) you can do without the fan.
73 Alfred
No.

Unfortunately, the fan not controlled by the CPU.

I presume as soon as the PA voltage is turned on the fan comes on.

I agree it would be better if this was under CPU control, but its not, and also all the pins on the CPU are already allocated, so it would not be possible even to modify the radio hardware to have such a feature
Ok roger, thanks for the quick info!
Nevertheless: A UFB device with the new firmware - I'm thrilled!
http://tyrofly.at/funk.htm#Open-GD77

User avatar
oe7abh
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 7:19 am
Location: Zillertal AUSTRIA
Contact:

Re: New GD77 Beta, and MD9600 Alpha

Post by oe7abh » Mon May 16, 2022 9:52 am

hello roger and daniel,
is that correct (RT90):

there is space for more than 1 million contacts in the memory ?
Image

73 Alfred

VK3KYY
Posts: 5133
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: New GD77 Beta, and MD9600 Alpha

Post by VK3KYY » Mon May 16, 2022 10:07 am

oe7abh wrote:
Mon May 16, 2022 9:52 am
hello roger and daniel,
is that correct (RT90):

there is space for more than 1 million contacts in the memory ?
Image

73 Alfred
Yes.

MD9600 has 16Mb Flash memory (Approximately 15Mb avaialble for DMR IDs)

User avatar
oe7abh
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 7:19 am
Location: Zillertal AUSTRIA
Contact:

Re: New GD77 Beta, and MD9600 Alpha

Post by oe7abh » Mon May 16, 2022 1:14 pm

Great ! UFB !

IW2FHM
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 4:30 pm

Re: New GD77 Beta, and MD9600 Alpha

Post by IW2FHM » Fri May 20, 2022 5:18 pm

Hello Roger, thanks for the huge development work for OPENGD77, browsing the internet I found this version of the TYT md9600 which seems to be a different version, do you find it compatible with OPEN9600 ???
Thanks again from IW2FHM
73
https://www.google.com/aclk?sa=l&ai=DCh ... QIA&adurl=

G4EML
Posts: 550
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:01 am

Re: New GD77 Beta, and MD9600 Alpha

Post by G4EML » Fri May 20, 2022 6:39 pm

That picture is very old. It was the mocked-up picture TYT used in adverts before the radio was available. As far as we know it never existed.

If the advert is genuine then it will be for the ‘Normal’ MD9600.

Colin G4EML.

Post Reply