DM-1701 Two Zones On Main Screen ?

Post Reply
MM6NRK
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 1:09 pm

DM-1701 Two Zones On Main Screen ?

Post by MM6NRK » Fri May 26, 2023 1:09 am

Thanks very much for the fw to make this radio work alot better . I was one of the 1st in the uk to have a DM-1701 when there was noting online about how to set it up and write code plugs .
One thing thing i cant work out is how to have two zones on main screen ? Like a A & B zone .

VK3KYY
Posts: 7287
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: DM-1701 Two Zones On Main Screen ?

Post by VK3KYY » Fri May 26, 2023 1:37 am

MM6NRK wrote:
Fri May 26, 2023 1:09 am
Thanks very much for the fw to make this radio work alot better . I was one of the 1st in the uk to have a DM-1701 when there was noting online about how to set it up and write code plugs .
One thing thing i cant work out is how to have two zones on main screen ? Like a A & B zone .
If you mean Dual Watch , i.e 2 channels on the same screen. This is not currently supported for channels.
It is however supported on the VFO screen, i.e 2 Rx frequencies

I've never heard of a radio with 2 Zones on the main screen, i.e as a Zone contains multiple channels.

MM6NRK
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 1:09 pm

Re: DM-1701 Two Zones On Main Screen ?

Post by MM6NRK » Fri May 26, 2023 1:49 am

VK3KYY wrote:
Fri May 26, 2023 1:37 am
MM6NRK wrote:
Fri May 26, 2023 1:09 am
Thanks very much for the fw to make this radio work alot better . I was one of the 1st in the uk to have a DM-1701 when there was noting online about how to set it up and write code plugs .
One thing thing i cant work out is how to have two zones on main screen ? Like a A & B zone .
If you mean Dual Watch , i.e 2 channels on the same screen. This is not currently supported for channels.
It is however supported on the VFO screen, i.e 2 Rx frequencies

I've never heard of a radio with 2 Zones on the main screen, i.e as a Zone contains multiple channels.
This is what i am talking about . I cant see any where do do this ?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3E5crsMqRBw

VK3KYY
Posts: 7287
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: DM-1701 Two Zones On Main Screen ?

Post by VK3KYY » Fri May 26, 2023 2:08 am

MM6NRK wrote:
Fri May 26, 2023 1:49 am
VK3KYY wrote:
Fri May 26, 2023 1:37 am
MM6NRK wrote:
Fri May 26, 2023 1:09 am
Thanks very much for the fw to make this radio work alot better . I was one of the 1st in the uk to have a DM-1701 when there was noting online about how to set it up and write code plugs .
One thing thing i cant work out is how to have two zones on main screen ? Like a A & B zone .
If you mean Dual Watch , i.e 2 channels on the same screen. This is not currently supported for channels.
It is however supported on the VFO screen, i.e 2 Rx frequencies

I've never heard of a radio with 2 Zones on the main screen, i.e as a Zone contains multiple channels.
This is what i am talking about . I cant see any where do do this ?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3E5crsMqRBw
This functionality is called DUAL WATCH

So. No its not supported.

MM6NRK
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 1:09 pm

Re: DM-1701 Two Zones On Main Screen ?

Post by MM6NRK » Fri May 26, 2023 2:12 am

VK3KYY wrote:
Fri May 26, 2023 2:08 am
MM6NRK wrote:
Fri May 26, 2023 1:49 am
VK3KYY wrote:
Fri May 26, 2023 1:37 am


If you mean Dual Watch , i.e 2 channels on the same screen. This is not currently supported for channels.
It is however supported on the VFO screen, i.e 2 Rx frequencies

I've never heard of a radio with 2 Zones on the main screen, i.e as a Zone contains multiple channels.
This is what i am talking about . I cant see any where do do this ?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3E5crsMqRBw
This functionality is called DUAL WATCH

So. No its not supported.
Thats fine mate but now i know and scan all channels is the next best thing and very fast . keep up the good work .

VK3KYY
Posts: 7287
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: DM-1701 Two Zones On Main Screen ?

Post by VK3KYY » Fri May 26, 2023 9:53 pm

MM6NRK wrote:
Fri May 26, 2023 2:12 am
VK3KYY wrote:
Fri May 26, 2023 2:08 am
MM6NRK wrote:
Fri May 26, 2023 1:49 am

This is what i am talking about . I cant see any where do do this ?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3E5crsMqRBw
This functionality is called DUAL WATCH

So. No its not supported.
Thats fine mate but now i know and scan all channels is the next best thing and very fast . keep up the good work .
Yes. You can make a zone with 2 or more channels, which will give similar functionality, but not quite the same

MM6NRK
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 1:09 pm

Re: DM-1701 Two Zones On Main Screen ?

Post by MM6NRK » Sun May 28, 2023 11:50 am

VK3KYY wrote:
Fri May 26, 2023 9:53 pm
MM6NRK wrote:
Fri May 26, 2023 2:12 am
VK3KYY wrote:
Fri May 26, 2023 2:08 am


This functionality is called DUAL WATCH

So. No its not supported.
Thats fine mate but now i know and scan all channels is the next best thing and very fast . keep up the good work .
Yes. You can make a zone with 2 or more channels, which will give similar functionality, but not quite the same
Thanks i had all ready done that and works well .

Post Reply